Skip to content

MediaMonkey Update – More Features

October 11, 2008

I’ve blogged about MediaMonkey before but as often happens, after teaching my fiance how to use it on her computer, I’ve found some new plugins and skins that have me excited enough to waste a bit of my weekend gushing about.  First off, check out my new WMP11 skin?  Sharp eh?

CropperCapture[2]

 

You can find it and some other nice ones here and here.  You’ll also notice the Lyrics Viewer pane.  Handy for those Rancid songs where Tim was particularly drunk.  It has a number of skins built in from the get go and can be tweaked to show much more than I’m showing here.  Grab that here.

If you’re going to have a lyrics viewer, you might as well have lyrics to view.  I’ve tried out most of the usual suspects to batch download lyrics for my library but only one script has consistently found accurate results at surprising speeds.  Download my new favorite, Lyricator here.  This is what it looks like:

CropperCapture[1]

Finally, I’m sure your eye has been drawn to the large pane on the right side of my screen.  That plugin is called MonkeyRok and it’s written by a rather talented scripter who also wrote a handy script for finding album art in batches.  You can find both free plugins on his website here. The batch art plugin looks like this:

CropperCapture[3]

The results aren’t always stellar but it’s one of the best I’ve come across and it has a simple and intuitive interface.

MonkeyRok is less useful but all cool.  It gives you all the glorious statistics you could possibly want about both the currently playing track and your library as a whole. Like so.

 

CropperCapture[4] CropperCapture[5]

CropperCapture[6]

If you’re unhappy with your current player / library check out MediaMonkey.

Leave a Reply

